Agile Modeling and Einstein

Last week, a friend of mine asked me about my opinion about keeping design documents simple. What follows is a quote from the Agile Modeling article he sent me over Skype.

One of the more controversial concepts in Agile Modeling is that agile models and agile documents are sufficient for the task at hand, or as I like to say they are “just barely good enough (JBGE)“. In this article I make the following critical points about a model or document (an artifact) being just barely good enough

This reminded me of a quote from Einstein which says “Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler”.

This Einstein Wiki Quote entry also mentions that it is likely that the KISS (Keep it Simple Stupid) Agile methodology principle also originated from the same idea.

I didn’t get to read the whole article, but overall I agree with the concept.

Leave a Reply

